top of page
  • Writer's picturecollegefaithjourney

Purpose

Updated: Jul 11, 2020

If you asked me what the most important things in my life are, I would immediately come up

with a list of the things that I hold closest to me. My family, my friends, my education, and my

health are just a few of the things that I might say. Something that I might not put on my list,

however, is my relationship with God. It isn’t as if I’ve never considered it; I went to a Catholic school for 12 years, so I know all about God and Catholicism and everything. I’ve been to church, I’ve read the bible, and I’ve always been immersed in environments where faith was at the center. I’ve just never felt the drive to make it more personal than that. I’ve gone my whole life without ever really feeling like something was missing. Hearing people talk about the comfort they felt through their relationship with Him didn’t make me uncomfortable or jealous, it made me confused. I told myself that if He wanted to talk to me, He Would. Now, however, I find myself needing guidance. I’m a sophomore in college and I’m not really sure what I am meant to do. I’m terrified that I’m going to dedicate my life to something, but that I am going to choose wrong. I don’t want to feel unfulfilled. I want to feel like I have some sort of purpose. This is where I can begin to see what draws people towards a relationship with God. I’ve always heard that we are meant to use the gifts that God gave us, and that we were all made by Him in his image and for a purpose. That sounds pretty appealing to me at the moment. If reaching out to Him can help me find clarity about my purpose, then it seems like something worth pursuing. I’m not going to pretend like I have a connection with Him or that I even know where to start, but for the first time I feel like something might be missing and I'm hoping God is who I need to find.


Faith Beke (sophomore, Ohio State University)



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page