top of page
  • Writer's picturecollegefaithjourney

Philippians 4:13

I can do all things, in Christ who strengthens me.

Last night, tucked into bed before 9:30 on a Saturday, I watched Soul Surfer with a couple of girlfriends. I had forgotten that Carrie Underwood played the role of Bethany Hamilton’s youth minister, and that Hamilton’s faith was so integral in her return to the ocean post-shark attack.

In the movie, after her surgery, Bethany’s dad encouraged her and optimistically proclaimed, “You can do it!” referring vaguely to the many obstacles ahead. Lying in her hospital bed, 13-year-old Bethany looked anything but convinced. She replied skeptically, “How do you know?” to which her dad replied quickly, holding up his Bible: “Because I can do all things…” and the two finished Philippians 4:13 simultaneously, sharing a smile, “…in Christ who strengthens me.”

Paul’s letter to the Philippians reappeared this morning during Sunday Mass. That’s when I felt compelled to write this. The readings for the day so often perfectly apply to me; I am not even surprised anymore. The Bible constantly proves to us it is God’s Living Word, and I love it.

Reading the first words of this verse, I can’t help but laugh as I think about my last few weeks of life. Not because life has been funny, but because I’m reminded over and over that I cannot do this alone, and I need to stop trying. I try to do things myself because I’m impatient. I’d rather do it myself to get it over with, rather than wait for someone else to do it (whatever it is). Most of the time, I refuse to wait even for God. I know he has bigger and better plans than the ones I have for me and for the people I love, but it’s hard to wait. The waiting is hard. It’s full of awkward “I-don’t-know-what-to-say” moments. It’s full of confusion and tears and heartache, but it’s also full of growth. This spring, I thought I had been pushed to the limit. Looking back, though, I laugh again. Only God knows my limits, and he’s not finished pushing me.

Since this semester started, I have seen my closest friends suffering, my favorite cousins struggling, and my own sisters hurting. I’ve found myself feeling a lot like Carrie Underwood’s character, Sarah, in Soul Surfer. As the youth minister, she walked alongside Bethany, even though she knew she would never be able to fully comprehend the hurt and loss Bethany experienced. When Sarah does it in the movie, just being there for Bethany seems like it’s enough. When I try to just “be there” for my friends, cousins, and sisters, though, I feel like I fall short. I know I need to let God take the pressure off me.

Christ will always be enough, so I will continue to invite him into the “I-don’t-know-what-to-say” moments. I will talk less, listen more, and love most. In doing this, I will do all things. Not by myself, but in Christ, who pushes me and strengthens me.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page