top of page
  • Writer's picturecollegefaithjourney

Everyday Amazing Grace

I’m sure you have all heard the great testimonies. The dramatic testimonies where God comes into someone’s life to save them from drug and alcohol addiction, abuse, broken homes, or bad relationships. They are the stories that give us goosebumps and leave us speechless. The stories that could be turned into a movie or would reach celebrity status if posted on Facebook.

This however is not my testimony. I did not have that eureka, jaw dropping moment. My testimony of how I came to my faith is actually pretty boring. I was raised in a loving Catholic family. We prayed before we ate. We prayed before we went to bed. We went to church together every Sunday. We were alter servers, eucharistic ministers, and Sunday School teachers. I was not allowed to watch the same shows as most other kids. I didn’t do drugs or sleep around. I never became that girl that reached rock bottom. And that’s okay. While my story of faith may lack that dramatic component, it does not mean that Christs love for me is any less.

My story is amazing because God saved me from all the “drama”. I am a sinner just like everyone else, but God has spared me from so much pain and regret. And with that how could I not have the outmost love for Him. Instead I have found God in the simple everyday life. I have found Him in my parents as they show up at my door just when I need them. I have found Him in my grandparents when they prayed with me before Sunday dinners. I have found Him in the heart of my husband as he helps me clean the dishes or holds me after a long day. I have found Him in the eyes of my babies as the doctors laid them in my arms for the first time. I have found Him in my kids as they ask me to turn up their “Jesus Music” as we drive in our minivan. I have found Him as I am hiding from my kids eating a chocolate bar because I just need that minute of peace. I have found Him when I am having that super mom day and can feel Him working in me. How can I deny that love for me?

It’s AMAZING! My childhood and adult faith has all of God’s amazing grace. And while it may not be the next made for tv movie, it’s something to be shared. God’s love is always something to be shared. Something that people need to hear. There does not need to be that big event to send us running to God. We should not have to hit that low to run to him. We should always run to Him. And when I look at my children, I can only hope and pray that their “boring” testimonies turn out just as amazing as mine.


Written by: Ashley DiRenzo

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page