top of page
  • Writer's picturecollegefaithjourney

Acknowledging the Growth of My Relationship with God

Updated: Jul 11, 2020

Growing up I always had a strong support system of Catholics through my family and friends at school. I was never really challenged with my faith because I didn’t think I had a choice, I just followed what everyone surrounding me was doing. It was always go to church on Sunday's and sit through religion class Monday through Friday, it almost seemed like a chore. I learned a lot about Catholicism and other religions during that time, but nothing about why I wanted to be Catholic or what my faith means to me. When I came to college freshman year I struggled with my faith. Mostly because I didn’t care enough to go to church or to talk about religion with anyone else. It took me until about the end of sophomore year to realize that I wanted a stronger relationship with God, and I wanted people to know that I’m proud of practicing my faith. After I made that decision I started to find people with the same interests as me, and people who wanted to support me in my faith because I wasn’t afraid to talk about it and I wanted to talk about it. Of course my relationship with God isn’t perfect, and I do find myself missing church on Sunday’s for various reasons, but for me, acknowledging the growth of my relationship with God has encouraged me to strive to continue my journey. I’ve found myself feeling proud when I say i’m going to church, reflecting on bible virus, journaling, and making time to talk to God. The biggest thing that has encouraged me through all of this is the decision I made to continue growing my faith. There’s only so much catholic school and parents can provide for you before you have to take the rest in your hands.

Written by: Julianna Skowron - Allegheny College

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page