top of page
  • womensfaithjourney

Is God holding out on me?

Updated: Sep 1, 2021


There have been so many times in my life where I have struggled with the feeling that God is holding out on me. I get so convinced by worldly possessions, societal beliefs, and false teachings that I should take matters into my own hands. Instead of obeying Our Lord and placing my hands into His, I try to do things on my own because I feel that I can get a better result my own way.


One of my friends recommended a book to me called “Captivating” written by a couple, John and Stasi Eldrege. Throughout the book, they uncover the glorious design God created women to be. As I am reading the book, I am discovering how they depict not only the purpose and beauty of a woman, but also the weak spots - the fall. The road bump Eve fell on first and all of us women continue to trip over today. I am sure you have either read, heard, or have some knowledge about the story of Adam and Eve. (If you haven’t you can find it within the first few pages of the Bible in the book of Genesis). If you have then you know the fall of Eve happened in just moments. Eve was in the Garden of Eden with Adam when she was confronted by the shrewdest of creatures the Lord had made… the serpent. Within moments the serpent had convinced Eve to eat from the tree at the center of the garden, the only tree that God told Adam and Eve they were not allowed to eat from. The serpent had explained to Eve that the tree that God commanded her not to eat from was not going to kill her, but it would allow her to become just like God and know everything… both good and evil. Eve was convinced there was more to life. She was convinced that God was holding out on her. She was convinced enough to try and take matters into her own hands. Right then and there was the fall to Eve, she dishonored and disobeyed God and she fell.


I am just like Eve.


I am always looking for something better.


I am reaching to have more than God has given me.


I am wanting and grasping to control things that are not mine to control.


In the book “Captivating” it says, “We are often enchanted, like Eve, so easily falling prey to the lies of our Enemy… Having forfeited our confidence in God, we believe in order to have the life we want, we must take matters into our own hands.”


Everyday and every moment Satan is trying to convince me there is more than God has offered me. Every time something goes wrong he is whispering in my ear that God is holding out on me. When I am in a situation where things are going different than I have planned I can feel Satan breathing down my neck taunting me to try to take control, want control, be in control.


Don’t let Satan win. Don’t let Him in. Turn you back to Him and put your hands into God’s. Take God’s hands and run. God has a beautiful plan for you. You might not know it yet, it might be different than you have planned, but oh is it going to be glorious and perfect for you.


By: Bryanna Urso


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page