top of page
  • Writer's picturecollegefaithjourney

Martha of Bethany

When we think about times Martha was mentioned in the Bible, we often remember negative things. The story we tend to remember the most is when Martha the sister of Mary was too busy preparing a meal that she was not focused on her guest, Jesus.


Throughout my day, more times than not can I relate to this. As a busy college student, a friend, sister, and daughter, I get tied up in my list of things to do and forget about my relationships with others. I am fixed on following my schedule and checking off everything I have to do that sometimes I forget to fix my eyes on God. God urges us to focus on the relationships (especially our relationship with him) and not the tasks we “need” to complete in our day. For young women in faith, He shows us the importance of focusing on Him this through Martha.


Jesus had a great love for Martha and her two siblings Mary and Lazarus. Martha is

first mentioned in the bible in the Gospel of Luke chapter 10. Martha is in her home preparing a meal for Jesus and the disciples. While she was prepping the meal

her sister, Mary, sat down to listen to Jesus, and this made Martha very angry.


In the Gospel of Luke, it was written that Martha,


was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made” Luke 10:40


Since she was in such rage that her sister Mary was not helping Martha yelled at Jesus saying,


Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!” 10:40


Jesus knew that Martha had a good and faithful heart and that she was just stressed with worry. Jesus wanted to assure Martha that there was no reason to worry about preparing the food because the most important thing was to spend time with Him.


It is important that we focus on Jesus every day and make sure that he is our main focus in life. Life is busy and we all face great difficulty figuring out our schedules to prioritize our Lord. Jesus has shown us that we do not need to worry about everything else on our list. Through His teachings with Martha Jesus has shown us his forgiveness and greatness. As women in faith we should learn from Martha and fix our eyes on God.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page