top of page
  • Writer's picturecollegefaithjourney

Identity

I was recently hanging out with some of my friends and for a few minutes I decided to sit back and just listen to all the different conversations that were going on. As I sat there, I realized a lot of the conversation wasn’t even about any of the people in the room. I thought to myself “Why are we so concerned with everyone else rather than ourselves”? I've started noticing this more and more, and I realized this theme is due to one simple thing, comparison. Comparison in general is a very common quality in all humans and stems from the roots of insecurity, jealousy, and judgement. Comparison by no means is a horrible concept, it's natural and sometimes even motivating to some, but in our current society I've noticed it seems to be taking an evil route. Social media and technology have a lot to do with this. We see what others are doing, or what others look like and we decide to judge ourselves based on what we see. We lose confidence in who we are as an individual and what we want to become. Judgments and comparison of others to ourselves can turn into thoughts of self doubt, conformity, and a lack of our own identity. We get lost in comparing ourselves to others and can lose focus on who we truly are. As a college student, it's fair to say this part of life is so crucial in terms of identity. Everyone is trying to figure out their relationships, passions, and future pursuits in life. It is a challenging time and it's easy to focus on others rather than yourself. When searching for identity, we frequently forget that a place to find yourself is through faith and through your relationship with God. God created each of us in his image and we are called to find our true self through him. By praying and seeking out your identity through Jesus, we can be guided in ways we had no idea even possible. Instead of comparing ourselves to our friends and peers, we should be trying to compare ourselves to the path that Jesus is calling us towards. What does Jesus want me to do with the gifts He gave me? How can I be more faithful and get closer to God? What steps can I take to find my true identity through Christ? This is not an easy path to find and each individual has their own unique calling from Jesus. But when we step back from all the distractions of others and the materialistic world we live in, we can have a much clearer view of ourselves and who we want to become. A quote I recently found says it perfectly​ “We won't be distracted by comparison if we are captivated by purpose”​. Find your purpose. Find your identity through Christ, there is no better person to guide you and help you become the best version of yourself.


By: Alex Klare

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page